Skip to Main Content

Columbus State University Print Logo

CSU Archives

CSU Archives

Eva Davis Papers (MC 321)

Biographical Note

Eva McCollister Davis  wrote stories  under the names Eva McCollister  and Eva Davis.  She was published in the February 1936 periodical Good Stories with the title " Mother Maloney Becomes an Heiress".  The cover of the May 1936 issue depicts the "Plight of Mother Maloney" seated with her three children and the dog.  The story is published inside.  The November 1936 issue includes the story "The Maloneys go to the Fair".  Eva Davis' address on "Little Mike" and others is listed in Tacoma, Washington.  Davis is her married name.  The stories are written in a country-style dialect.

Eva Mabel McCollister was born in 1879 in Garwin, Tama Co, Iowa to Lewis and Sarah DeFrance McCollister.  She was married three times; William M . Elliott in 1897, John A. Reinig in 1904 and Charles Oscar Davis in 1919.  She died in Tacoma, Washington in 1952.

Scope and Content

This small collection contains the published and unpublished short stories written by Eva Davis.

1930s                                                                  1 box (.25 l.f.)


Permission to Publish

Permission to publish material from the Eva Davis Papers must be obtained from the Columbus State University Archives at Columbus State University.  Use of the following credit line for publication or exhibit is required:

Eva Davis Papers (MC 321)
Columbus State University Archives
Columbus, Georgia



This collection came to the CSU Archives in the fall of 2013 when the Columbus Public Library closed its archival materials and donated them to the CSU Archives.  It was originally donated to the Public Library in 2006 by Mahlan Hyatt on March 14, 2006.  It's Public Library identifier was MC031.


Box and Folder List

Box 1

Folder 1: Good Stories periodical, (4 issues)  2 of Feb.1938, Nov and May 1936  published in Augusta, Maine, the Maloney Family stories

Folder 2: "Little Mike "( 9000 words)

Folder 3: "Whippoor-Will Farm" (play in twelve installments)

Folder 4:" Mother Maloney puts on the Pants " by Eva McCollister

Folder 5: "Mother Maloney's Boarding House" by Eva McCollister

Folder 6: "Mother Maloney's Kinfolks" by Mrs. Eva Davis

Folder 7: "Rafferty's Rooster" by Mrs. Eva Davis